Freaking out about Sci-fi & Moives

Toy Story 3 & Day and Night Review.

 

As soon as my kids heard that their was going to be a new Toy Story movie, all I got form my kids was “Daddy can see Toy Story 3… Daddy can see Toy Story 3… Daddy can see Toy Story 3…” Which went on for months! There was no doubt that I would take them, and the Day finally arrived and the film was realised on a Monday. I booked the Friday of work, as it was their first day of School for the summer holidays, and set about looking for a cinema that would not have too many kids in it. (I can’t stand other kids making noise while watching a film, luckily for my kids sit quietly and are transfixed by what happening on screen. So they are no problem.)

I found the best place to go was the Millennium Dome in London as it in the middle of no where in London. (The Dome is also now called the O2.) As hoped there was no child under the age of 16 there.

The Kids wanted to see the film in 3d as they have not seen one yet. So that what we went for.

You use to have to buy the 3d glasses, but that has now changed as the cinema provides them as you enter your screen, which is great.
Even though the glasses are one size, they are very child friendly and fitted my daughter head with no problems and did not fall off. (She just turned 4 and this was a Birthday Treat.)

Pre-film you got the usual TV add’s before the film previews. 20mins of this is a bit much when you are showing a children film. They would become very restless waiting for it to start.

Once the film previews where over the first feather started. As with all Pixar films there is a short shown before the main feature. This was Day and Night.

Day and Night, is a story about two people drawn in 2d. You just see their out line and facial features but within them is 3d animation. One of them has the Day Time and the other as Night. The two fight at first due to their difference, but they both come to respect each other.

The animation for this must have been very hard, given what was done. But the end product is excellent and I have to say this is my favourite short from Pixar. It was done excellently and is very funny. This is a must see on the Pixar shorts.

Once Day and Night finished Toy Story 3 Started.
The intro to Toy Story 3 wipes the floor off the intro into Toy Story 2. Toy Story 2 starts off with the little adventure of Buzz, which turned out to be a computer game Rex was playing. Well with Toy Story 3, it now woody and the rest of the gang. But don’t fear Buzz is included as well, and it a little node of the head to the game Andy was playing before he got Buzz in the first film. Which means One Eye Pete (Mr Potato Head) is working with his wife, there kids (The Squeeze Toy Aliens save by Mr Potato Head in Toy Story 2) and the Evil Dr Pork (Hamm). Slinky Dog is there as the Attack Dog with Force Field and Rex as the Attack Dino that eats Attack Dog with Force Field.
It all turns out to be Andy imagination, and a funny start to the film.

The film then moves on to years later, showing Andy growing up, until he is ready to head of to collage. Most of the Toys are now gone and only the gang are left. Woody, Jess, Bullseye, Buzz, Slinky Dog, Rex, Hamm, Squeeze Toy Aliens, Mr and Mrs Potato Head and only Three plastic Toy Solders. The Toys have been kept in Andy’s old toy chest.
They attempt one last go at having Andy play with them but it fails miserably.
The Army guy’s realise that it time to leave, because if they don’t they will be the first to be thrown out.
This is quite a sad moment, as it makes you feel that the end is coming. Will the toys that are left get though out or but into storage? I don’t know about you. But it made me think that if my Toy where a live, how did they feel when I stopped playing with them?

Anyway Andy Mum finds Andy looking at the old toys and she tell him to either donate them or put them intro storage. Naturally Andy picks up Woody and saves him by taking him to collage with him. Buzz however get left behind, which shook’s everyone. There is a slight misunderstanding and Andy mum goes to bin a bag with the toy with them. Woody goes to rescue them, as he has seen the whole thing. The Toy don’t believe Woody about the misunderstanding and get into the box to be donated.

The toys end up at nursery and they think they are in paradise. Woody dose not want to stay and tires to get back to Andy, however he ends up going home with a little girl.
As for the other toy’s there paradise turn into a nightmare and learn the truth about the nursery. Lots-O’-Huggin’ Bear, runs it as a prison and only a few toy get to have paradise.

At the home of the little girl Woody learns the truth about nursery and head back the next day to get his friends out. I not going to say what happens next but it a lot of fun and reminds more of a lot of prison break film.

The Toy’s make it back to Andy’s but they have lots Barbie along the way. What happens next will spoil the end of the film, but it a great ending for the story of these toys.

As I said at the start of the review I saw this in 3d, and I have to say that it looks great but, you really don’t need to see it in 3d. This because there are no real stand out, moments where thing’s come at you out of the screen, unlike AVATAR. But the depth of field is used very well though out the film.

The film is very emotional and does pull at the old hart string, but there are some really great and funny moments in the film like Mr Potato Head sticking his parts into wrap during the escape.

I would give this film a five out five, and if you don’t believe me ask my son, as the first thing he said after seeing the film is “Daddy can we now go and buy Toy Story 3 on Blue-Ray?”
Lovely I now have 16 weeks of that LOL!

2 responses

  1. I want to see Toy Story 3. 😉

    Seriously, I like the first two, I have them on DVD. So, I’ll probably pick up the newest one when it hits DVD.

    All I gotta say about theaters providing 3D glasses now, they should. As much as you pay for those tickets, that should be included in the price (in fact, I’m sure it is.)

    27/07/2010 at 16:49

    • EG I know you don’t like going to the cinema, but I reckomend that you do for this one. It’s worth it.

      I also have the first two on DVD as well and the kids a brunning holes in them LOL.
      I thinking on replacing the DVD’s with Blue Ray, but I don’t know what the convertion is like on that. I hope it’s good.

      As for the glasses I total agree. But up and till last Xmas, there was not that many 3d movies, then all of a susen ever other movie in 3d.

      27/07/2010 at 17:35

Leave a Reply

