Freaking out about Sci-fi & Moives

Akria Class Part 7, Catamarans

The Catamarans are a real head-banger to model.
I have lost count on how many times I had to do it. This was attempt number 3.

After a few more attempts, I was still not getting it right. So I took Sphere stretched it along the Y axis so it was the almost the full length of the catamarans. I then shaped it on the outer side along the X axis. Once this was done, I duplicated the object and put on another layer. I then started to shape the inner side along the X axis.
Once completed, I removed both sections that I did not want from both objects. I then joined both objects together to get the final shape.

At the moment, its just a rough shape. I don’t want to start to add details until I have started work on the saucer witch I have. Going by the blue prints I am using as reference, I am going to have use the same process to get the shape.

Anyway, here is how it looks.
In the first picture I have add a plan where saucer would cut the cat’s, the section below this will be removed later.
I have also include a few pictures of the wire frame of the Cat’s from different angles.

Leave a Reply

