Freaking out about Sci-fi & Moives

Akira Class, Part 9. Bridge

Since the last update, I have scaled the ship up to the size I normally work in. So I am now building it at 1:1 scale. I am also giving the deck hight at 3.4 meters, whcih will give it at total of 22 deck not inculding the weapons pod.

I have added the “Hump” between the cat’s and the bridge.
I will now start to add detail to the bridge and start moving out form there. Though I might do the outter saucer and work my way in. Not sure at this point.

Anyway here where is standing at the moment.

The Box at the bottom of the image is for the deck scale. The Black and white lines are 2 metes in length each.

I have given the ship Name of USS Campbeltown after the British Navy ship.
Two reasons for this:-
The orignal HMS Campbeltown played a small but vital role during the Second World War, in the The St Nazaire Raid. here is the wiki page for it.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HMS_Campbeltown_(I42)

The Second reason is that Campbeltown is my Mums home town.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Campbeltown

The ship quote is taken form the current HMS Campbeltown.

3 responses

  1. Nice work. The bridge looks good so far. Also, it’s very important to work in a scale that you’re used to, so it’s good that you switched. And that’s a good name for your ship. 🙂

    14/10/2010 at 18:29

  2. Thanks Chris.

    One of the guys on SFM mention having the Ship reg of the oringal Campbeltown in the reg number of this ship. Might do that.

    14/10/2010 at 19:12

  3. Yeah, it could be something like NCC-80142. 🙂

    14/10/2010 at 19:28

Leave a Reply

