Freaking out about Sci-fi & Moives

Akira Class, Part 11 Saucer Details

With the bridge and the “hump” now done. (still need to put in the little circle thing behind the bridge on the “hump”.) I have now moved on to adding details to the saucer. First thing I did was cut the grove into the side of the saucer. I then moved to the hanger and modelled them. I still need to check if a runabout can fit though the two main doors. But I need the length and width for that. So if anyone knows could you please let me know.

I think a type 11 shuttle can fit though the middle doors, again I need to check, But I DL a copy of the Type 11 from Star Trek Blender, so I will be checking that.

I have also modelled the “Launch tubes” at the front. It’s not the same as the studio model, it more of my own thing. I have also added sensor to the bottom of it.

Anyway on to the pictures.


I have started to model an air lock to the side of the saucer. I have not seen anyone on the blue print or studio model, so I am doing my own thing there.

Things left to do on the saucer.

1. Cut the windows.
2. Add ship name and reg.
3. Model the phaser strip
4. Add life boats.
5. Add more details.

For those that are interested here is a clay render of the ship.

6 responses

  1. That’s some really nice work, dude. Sadly, I don’t know the answer to your runabout question. I’ve never really seen any stats on the bays for this ship.

    28/10/2010 at 16:16

  2. Thanks Chris.
    No worries, I am sure I’ll find the answer. 🙂

    28/10/2010 at 17:32

    • All you really need is a runabout model to scale with your ship. I know of one that’s available in LW6 format, which Blender can easily import, if you need one to test it.

      28/10/2010 at 17:54

  3. Sure why not?

    28/10/2010 at 20:05

  4. http://www.scifi3d.com/list.asp?intGenreID=9&intCatID=51

    There’s a Danube-class complete with upper pod about 1/4 of the way down the page.

    28/10/2010 at 22:28

Leave a Reply

