Freaking out about Sci-fi & Moives

Akira Class, Part 14. Deflector, lower saucer and “Secondary Hull”

With work now done on top of the saucer except for the panels. I have now moved down to under the saucer and the secondary hull.

I was not happy with the front of the secondary hull so I have remodelled this and I tihnk it looks a lot better. with this done, I started on the deflector dish. From the refance pic’s I have you can’t really get a good look at it as the light bleeds into the image.
So after looking at some of the work done by Madkoifish. I did my own version with some infulance from MKF.

I add a blue light behind the deflector to add a little mroe to it.

and here is how it looks on the ship.

I have also modelled windows into the saucer, though at the angle on the next set of pic’s you can’t really see it, though in the last pic, you get a idea where it is.
I have also put in another torp laurcher. This is smaller than the others, I have put this into the “Secondary Hull” I done this as the ship has a blind spot with all it laurcher.

Now I have two options for lower forward torp laurchers. Should I go with two or four?

2 responses

  1. That’s some really nice work, bro. I like what you did with the deflector. It’s always nice when an artist puts their own personal touches on a model, it makes the model that much more special. Also, your deflector looks much better than the texture they used on the filming CG model, IMO. Everything else looks good also. As for the forward launchers, I like it better with 4.

    19/11/2010 at 17:44

  2. Thanks Chris.
    I have decieded to go with two on Launchers.
    This thing already has enough of them.
    The ship maybe Fanboyish. But I don’t want to go too over the top.

    23/11/2010 at 08:19

Leave a Reply

