Freaking out about Sci-fi & Moives

Asteroid

Blender Guru has recently put a new Video tutorial on how to make a realistic Asteroid field. (a link can be found under Blender sites on the side bar.) I normal look at the tutorials as they are always been helpful with things I am doing.

So with my love of sci-fi and ship building, I though it would be a good idea to put this tutorial to good use.

Making the asteroid is very simple and can be done in less than two min’s, make the whole scene took a little longer as I used a partial system for the smaller asteroids. These have less details than the main asteroid as they are out of focus so don’t need the heavy details.

Once the scene was done I render it out, it looked good but not great. This is where Blender Guru video tutorials have always been a great help. This is due to the fact that Andrew Price use Nodes to bring the render to life.

With another half work putting the Node together and composting the picture. It came out better than I expected.

However I though the scene looked to bright to be realistic. So I played around with the environmental lighting. I have to say that it came out as I hope nice and dark. This would be how you would see an asteroid field in real life.

Of course it was far to dark for an artist picture with a ship. So I put the environmental lighting back up and grabbed the only ship I’ve got with textures finished.
The good old Aries Fighter, which I built when I first started out.
The textures are very simple and the reflection is a bit high, but I was going for a look of a ship that just came off the production line.
The colours I went for with this ship are the same as those as Royal Air Force, Red Arrows. Most of their planes have a glossy look to them which is almost got a mirrored quilty to it.

With these picture finished I plan on doing a series of them. Don’t worry I have not forgotten about the Type 11 Shuttle and Akira, I am currently hunting down some good textures for them.

2 responses

  1. That’s frackin’ awesome, Dean. I’m going to have to try that tutorial. 😀

    28/03/2011 at 17:33

  2. Thanks Chris

    You should it was very easy to do, and you get some really great results from it.

    29/03/2011 at 12:00

Leave a Reply

