Freaking out about Sci-fi & Moives

PEGASUS FOUND (part of the Asteroid collection)

If you’re a fan of Star Trek: The Next Generation, you will recognise this from the season 7, episode The Pegasus. In the episode Commander Riker old CO (Admiral Eric Pressman) come onboard the Enterprise with a mission to recover his old ship the USS Pegasus which was lost 12 years ago near the Romulan Neutral Zone.

Riker was one of the crew members aboard the ship when it was lost. Riker know what the real mission is and Admiral Eric Pressman orders him to keep quite about it.
This put him at odds with Captain Picard.

I have always been fascinated with the Pegasus stuck within an asteroid. It been a picture I have wanted to for some time, but my modelling skills have not been up to the task. Now that I am able to model an asteroid with out any problem I am now able to do it.

Unfortunately I do not have an Oberth & Galaxy class model, to do this picture. However Star Trek: Blender did, so I download copies of both ships. Unfortunately the textures for the Oberth did not come over to well into Blender 2.5, so I have had to make my own ship reg. Also the copy of the Galaxy class is a very low Polly model and all the details where done with textures. This model should not really be used for close ups, which is what I needed. This is why you only see a small part of the ship and blurry at that. It was the best away with getting away with it.

Anyway I have done three version of this picture. First is the picture without a lens distortion off and the second with it on. The third picture is with the lens distortion off, but it a close up on the Pegasus.

These pictures are okay, but I would prefer to do it with high Res models, so if anyone knows of a high detailed model of the Galaxy & Oberth class that is available for Blender for free, or is will to donate their copies please let know, in the comments below.

USS Enterprise 1701-D Meshes by SCIFIART
USS GRISSOM Meshes by Eric Peterson

5 responses

  1. One of my favorite TNG episodes. 😀

    Those are cool. I like the interesting way you overcame the low poly Ent-D mesh by having the picture being taken by a nacelle camera, that’s very inventive. The Pegasus looks OK, that mesh is really showing its age, but the asteroid looks awesome. 🙂

    04/04/2011 at 16:02

  2. Thanks Chris.

    You got to work with the tools you got. 😉

    I got an idea for a better pic for the same scene. But I need a high res copy of both ship.

    Someone must have made them for blender?!

    04/04/2011 at 20:13

    • I don’t know. It’s hard finding high rez models of the Enterprise-D. Not a lot of models exist for that ship (most likely due to the complex design) and most are very old. Also, most that I’ve seen have textured windows.

      05/04/2011 at 18:06

  3. I have seen a few that are high res, and fully modelled, but they are for other software and are not avaiable for public use.

    06/04/2011 at 13:48

    • Yeah, Ditto. I know Tobias Richter and his group have a really nice 1701-D but it’s most likely for Max or Maya and I’ve never seen it up for download anywhere.

      06/04/2011 at 19:11

Leave a Reply

