Freaking out about Sci-fi & Moives

Project: Ark – Sentry Weapon System.

A few years ago, I started a 3d project with a few people over on Scifi-mehses.com.
Unfortunatly the project fell though but we did get a few scripts down and some concept art done.

As it still something that I want to do, I though would carry on the project by myself.
This is going to be a big project and most likely will take a few good years to do. But it will be a good learning experiance.
I recently saw some old work by Brian Larsen on his NU BSG project. (another large project that did not get finished.)
This insprired me to do work work on this.

So for the first post of the Ark Project. I give you the Sentry Guns.
These guns can be fitted to ships or space station for defencive perposed.

5 responses

  1. Nice work on the gun, Dean. It looks great. 😀

    Is this Ark Project a movie or what?

    06/06/2011 at 17:28

  2. Thanks Chris.
    I need redo the barrels and the handrails, as they have bit too many verts. But that will only take a few moments.

    As to your question, yeah this is a film project.

    06/06/2011 at 18:36

    • Are you going to completely redo them or just add a smoothing modifier?

      06/06/2011 at 18:42

  3. I am going to redo them. Orignally I made them from circle made of 32 Verts. For the barrel, I should be able to get away with a circle made of 16.

    As for the handrail. I should be able to get away with a circle made of 8 verts. but that might be pushing it.

    Once done smooth it and you would be not able to tell the difference.

    07/06/2011 at 05:50

  4. Yeah, I never do more than 8 for something thin like a handrail. It’s not worth it to do more because you really can’t tell due to the thinness.

    07/06/2011 at 07:23

Leave a Reply

