Freaking out about Sci-fi & Moives

A new Babylon 5 Show?

I found this artical on IGN, and though it was intreting enough to post here.

J. Michael Straczynski gets his own panel when he does Comic-Con, and he has a following. People fill the room just to hear him talk about whatever he feels like talking about at the moment. He’s pretty fun too. And today he very briefly spoke about a new Babylon 5 show.

Straczynski, who of course created the classic sci-fi series, was somewhat cryptic about the state of the franchise. He said until a deal is done he has to be. But he explained that a new series could happen.

Apparently, last year Warner Bros. approached Straczynski about a new distribution system that they were attempting to launch, and they wanted him to produce a new Babylon 5 for that system.

Straczynski, who over the years has dabbled in a variety of spin-offs of the series, said that he didn’t want to do anything on the cheap anymore (*cough* The Lost Tales *cough*). So his terms for Warner Bros. were: two to three million dollars per episode, commission a full season and grant him full creative control And they went for it.

But then, months later, this new “distribution system” collapsed.

And yet, Straczynski says that there’s still a chance that some kind of show will happen. Again, he can’t say much right now, but the implication seems to be that this is a sooner rather than later situation. Will it be a reboot, a sequel, a prequel? Only Londo knows!

I am a huge fan of B5, so I hope it comes about, even if it is a reboot as long as do it with the five year plan. Like the orignal.

5 responses

  1. I’ll watch it, assuming it’s on a station that I get. I think it was originally, (it was originally run in syndication) but I don’t think I was able to watch it because of school or something. Now I have no such limitations. 😉 I hope they do develop another show. Whether it’s a reboot or a completely new show, I don’t really care.

    26/07/2011 at 03:38

  2. I just had a thought. (I do that occasionally ;)) It would be cool if they did a prequel series set during the Earth-Mimbari war that’s spoken of in the first season opening credits. I wonder if that’s an idea that they’re considering. 🙂

    29/07/2011 at 20:58

    • While it would be cool to see it in more detail, I don’t think they will. As they did the TV movie “In the Beggining”.
      That showed most of the major points of the war. You also have to remember that new comers to B5 will not want to watch a show where the human race is being wiped out and only winning one of two battles.

      Now the Phys War could be intresting, as that was not touched on to much.

      01/08/2011 at 05:58

      • I’m still not that familiar with B5 and most of what I did know I’ve forgotten. I really need to get the series on DVD.

        01/08/2011 at 07:23

      • I only got to see B5 once as it has only been broadcast one on Terresital TV the once.
        I think SyCrap UK currently have the right to show it. but I don’t have that station.

        “In the Begining” was the frist TV movie realsied after the show. it was about 40% of stuff from the show run & 60% new stuff. it’s not a bad film. It really set up the stroy for B5.

        01/08/2011 at 12:15

Leave a Reply

