Freaking out about Sci-fi & Moives

Project Ark: Earth Colonies Defence Ship (ECDF), Part 3

Small update, here is the gangway and fuel pods.
I have done here is swap out the cargo container with ones with fuel pods I will removed the rail guns from this section, the reason for this, is that if they get hit. It could take out the fuel pods. So I am thinking of changing the design so you can’t actually see them as they will have armour covering them up.
Though for a civi version of the ship I would like them to be seen.
I am having some issue rendering out this with the gangway and cargo pods.
This is due to memory.

4 responses

  1. It’s probably all of those shadow calculations using up your memory. That will happen with latticework-type stuff. Unfortunately, there’s not much you can do about it but wait it out (unless you can afford to upgrade your rig.)

    That section is looking awesome. 🙂

    30/11/2011 at 03:19

  2. Thanks

    Well I do plan to get a new PC at some point. But it will most likely be a few years yet as I am saving up to go on hoilday next year.
    Been to long since I went over sea’s.

    I think the problem might be to do with the fact, that on the cylinders I have used 32 verts cycles, when I can get away with 16.
    So I am now in the process of cleaning up gangways of all the verts and faces that can’t be seen. Once that is done, I will copy them over to the ganagway and fuelpods to see if that helps resovle the issue.
    I am hoping that it will.

    30/11/2011 at 11:46

    • I’m telling you, it’s the shadow calculations. Due to the way you constructed it, there are a lot of shadows. Sure, the verts might slow it down some, but not as much as those shadows do. Render it once without shadows and I’m betting you’ll see a difference.

      30/11/2011 at 18:12

  3. Okay. I’ll give that a go.

    05/12/2011 at 13:28

Leave a Reply

