Freaking out about Sci-fi & Moives

Lady in Red

John Eaves has been posting pin-up photos on his blog for some time now.
I have always enjoyed them and the Red Dress series And i thought some of them would work as a pin-up, like those found on fighter and bomber planes during the Second World War.

When John started with the Red Dress series, I knew it would look great if i were to have a pin up on a Trek ship.
I have been looking for a project that this could be done with and after finally deciding to build one I knew I had to put a pin up on it, However, a full starship would be too big and you would not see the pin-up, that meant it would have to go on a shuttle.

I started to look through John’s collection and found a great picture of Meagan Moorman. Here is the original picture.

I took the picture into Photoshop and removed the background.
I then started to play with the different filter, as I was going for a painted look.
My hand drawing skills are not up to the task. Anyway after playing around I still was not getting the look I wanted.
By accident I came across a look that was used for the film A Scanner Darkly, based on the novel of the same name by Philip K. Dick. I liked the look so decided to keep it.
I then added the Starfleet Emblem to the background but I am not sure if it works, so I removed it. I then just added the Miss Megan; I think this works a little better. But we will only know once I place it onto the shuttle.

4 responses

  1. That’s really cool, Dean. I agree, the logo wasn’t working. I’m looking forward to seeing how it looks with the shuttle. Great choice of pictures, BTW. Of course, most of the ones John posts on his blog are fantastic. 🙂

    09/01/2012 at 16:50

  2. Thanks Chris.
    I am hoping to place it onto the shuttle this week. Just need to finish off making a few more textuers then it just apply them and then I can call it done.

    10/01/2012 at 14:47

  3. Meagan Moorman

    Hey there! This is Meagan Moorman – thank you for the response from John Eave’s shoot! I appreciate that you liked my photo so much you transformed it, it looks super neat!
    xo
    Meagan

    04/02/2012 at 05:36

    • Thank you for the kind comment.
      It’s an honour to work with your picture.
      I look forward to seeing more of your work with John in the future.

      05/02/2012 at 19:47

Leave a Reply

