Freaking out about Sci-fi & Moives

Akira Class, Part 20. Clean up and Rebuilding: Weapons Pod.

With the Type โ€“ 11 Shuttle now finished I thought it would be a good time to head back the Akria Class that started it all off.

I recently re-opened the file, and found that there where a number of things that I am not happy with. So I have started to correct these issues. First up, is the weapons pod.

Here is where I left it last; I have added the shuttle to show scale.

As you can see those torpedos launch tubes are way off scale. They are wider than the shuttle making for some big ass torpedoes. With the torpedoes that size you are not going to store too many in there.

There was also some issue with the pod itself, so I have remodelled this. It is now much cleaner than before. With that done it was onto the torpedo launch tubes.
These have been completely rebuilt. But before I started that, I built a proper scale model of a torpedo. Though none where seen during the run of TNG we have seen them in the TOS films and some have appeared in VOY. (The size has not changes.)
The size of them are slight larger than a normal person. (Spock was buried in ST: II TWOK.)

With that done I then started to work on the launcher, I could fix two of them into the old launch tubes. This means that the forward one now had 8 instead of 4. I have kept three in the lower section of the pod.
As for the rear launch tubes I never like the idea that they where set up in a semicircle, as this created a blind spot on the rear of the ship. I have corrected this by having them point to the rear. With that done, I had to remodel the housing for that set of torpedo launchers. Given this correction there was no need to add more launchers in there.

The weapons pod now has 17 launcher instead of 13, it might be over kill, but the Akria class is a warship and not an exploration ship. Even with the 4 extra launchers there is still plenty of room for a good number of torpedos to be stored in the pod.

The only thing that survived the original model was the gribbles at the top and bottom of the pod.

With that done I am now moving onto correcting the rest of the weapons on the ship.

2 responses

  1. Looking good, Dean. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I never really though of those as being out of scale before, I guess I just assumed those openings weren’t the actual launch tube openings. However, what you did makes sense and it looks good. ๐Ÿ˜€

    05/03/2012 at 16:44

    • Thanks Chris.

      Yeah I thought it was just an opening as well, but when I put the shuttle there for scale. I saw what a waste of space it was. This why I meade those four launchers into an eight.

      05/03/2012 at 17:02

Leave a Reply

