Freaking out about Sci-fi & Moives

Low Memory = Unable to render in Full HD.

A few weeks ago I finished the Type – 11 shuttle, I mentioned that I would do a picture of her to go into my asteroid collection that I did last year.
I got the scene all set up and can render it out in full HD with no issue.
However once I have added all the composting to finish off the picture it starts to crash and I get kicked out the program. But if I have everything set up at 50% of full HD, the picture renders out with no issue.

The only thing I can think that is causing the issue is lack of RAM.
The machine I have at work only has 250MB and can’t even render it out in full HD.
While my home machine, only has 3GB. This points to it being a memory issue, the only to know for sure is to render it out on a machine with higher memory.
My father-in-law has a machine with 12GB, so I have to test it out on his machine to be sure.

Until I can post up, the final finished peace. Here is a full HD version of the picture with no texture applied and the 50% HD picture with the composting completed.
Everything is by me except for the Klingon Bird of Pray by William Burningham.

7 responses

  1. Ah, the old “low memory” message. Lots of fun. (rolls eyes) The culprit is likely the RAM, Blender probably used what you have and wants more. Are you running Windows 32 or 64 bit?

    The picture looks good, HD or not. 🙂

    19/03/2012 at 15:21

    • I am running Win 32.
      I am going to start up grading the RAM as it cheap. But I am not sure if I can go above 8GB. (2GB per board. If there is 4GB boards. Then I can go up to 16GB, I’ll have to check that,)

      19/03/2012 at 22:53

  2. A 32-bit OS has a max of 4GB of RAM. Anything more than that won’t register. It’s the way they all are. If you go higher, you’re going to need 64-bit. It can go up to 128GB, I think.

    Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit uses 1GB (ish) RAM, leaving 2GB (ish) to spare if you have 3GB. Of course, other programs running will take from the RAM, as will on board graphics adapters. Though, I can’t figure out why 2GB isn’t enough for Blender to render this in full HD, unless it’s not getting that much or it’s a beast of a scene. Do you have any programs running in the background that could be drawing RAM?

    20/03/2012 at 03:40

    • Okay I got a copy of Win 7 64-bit. I’ll back everything up and then install that.
      As to your question no, Blender is the only program that is running.

      20/03/2012 at 06:16

  3. Ah, you obviously have the Win7 retail box version also. 😉

    Yeah, 64-bit should take care of your memory issues, especially if you install more RAM. I guess Blender draws quite a bit for this scene, but that’s not surprising. It looks like it’s full of high quality models and textures.

    20/03/2012 at 06:34

    • It’s deffantly the textures for the asteroid that is doing it.
      The small asteridos are using the partical system. That take alot of the RAM up. add the textuers for it and lighting and shadows for each one. That is most likely maxing it out.

      I’ll have to wait untill the end of the month to do the upgrade to 64-bit, as I have program install that lets me watch F1. If I upgrade before the end of the month I lose access to it, untill the start of next month. Once this weekends Race is over, I’ll do the upgrade.
      I also have a video card with a HDMI out put that want to install. so I’ll do that at the same time.

      20/03/2012 at 08:49

  4. Pingback: A Game of Cat and Mouse « Freak Art

Leave a Reply

