Freaking out about Sci-fi & Moives

Dredd, Trailer

In 1995, Judge Dredd finally came to the big screen starring Sylvester Stallone.
While the set and look of the film looked like they were taken right out of the comic book page.
Unfortunatly the story sucked big time and Stallone had Dredd’s helmet off for most of the film. (If you never read British comic, 2000AD. Then you would not know that Judge Dredd never takes his helmet off.)

It has taken nearly 20 for Dredd to come back to the big screen. This time we have Karl Urban in the starring role. From what I have seen in the trailer. It looks like it is set in the real world, while at the same time keeping some of the look from the comic.

Anyway, here is the first full trailer for Dredd.


.
I have to say that this look promising.
Dredd is due out on the 7th September in the UK and the 21st September in the USA.

4 responses

  1. Oh man, that looks good. Karl Urban is so f*ng cool. I think he can play just about anybody.

    I actually got into Judge Dredd because of the 1995 film. Of course, once I got some Dredd comics, I found out how much they’d changed things. It’s sad because Danny Cannon wanted to do a Dredd movie that was more true to the comics but then they hired Stallone and he insisted on rewriting parts of the script and making a bunch of changes. Of course, the most controversial change among Dredd fans was taking off his helmet. Apparently, he was such a pain in the ass to work with that Danny Cannon swore off working with A-list celebrities. Of course, at the time, I didn’t know any better and I really enjoyed the film. I still do, even though it’s not true to the comics.

    This new one, however, looks a lot more like the comics. It’s very gritty and realistic looking, though it’s clearly still set in Mega City 1, like the comics were. The costumes look cool, even though it looks like they did away with the gold bars and eagles on the Judges’ shoulders. (people who only know the first film probably don’t know that, in the comics, ALL of the Judges had the eagles, they weren’t a sign of rank) I see Anderson will be working with Dredd, like she often did in the comics. I wonder if she’ll have psychic powers, like she does in the comics.

    I hope, if this is a success, they consider doing Judge Death for the next movie. That would be cool. But, one step at a time. First, this one has to come out and we have to see it and I hope it’s as good as it looks. πŸ˜€

    22/06/2012 at 07:23

    • I am not really a follower of Dredd, but I did read some of the comics that came out in the 2000AD hardback anuanals in the late 80’s. I read more when I got into comic a bit more in the mid 90’s.

      The 95 film is an okay film and fun to watch. But as a Dredd story it sucked big time.

      As for Judge Death, it would be a bit soon for doing him. I would leave him untill the 3rd of 4th film if the film is a success. Just going by this trailer it look like it can be.

      22/06/2012 at 08:47

      • I’m just a Judge Death fan. πŸ˜‰ In fact, I think I have a Judge Death action figure around here somewhere (along with Dredd and Anderson.)

        Yeah, I’m not a follower of the comics either. For one thing, it’s hard to do in this country because of most stores not carrying British comics. But, I picked up some several years ago from a used bookstore.

        22/06/2012 at 17:43

  2. I think this movie looks pretty cool so far !!

    24/06/2012 at 04:57

Leave a Reply

