Freaking out about Sci-fi & Moives

Star Trek Federation Fighter

With the Akria getting closer to being finished I though it was now time to start thinking about building a fighter craft that would go with her.
The only Federation fighters we have seen have been the reuse of the trainer craft from a TNG episode and the Marquis ships. As I don’t want a stock ship, I started to look at different ship designs, Trek and non-Trek.
I came across Ryan Dening, Edison Class shuttle/fighter that he did during the early days of Star Trek On-line.

I like the idea behind Ryan’s design but it looks a little small. I worked it out at being roughly 4 meters long. As this is a little smaller than I would like I am using his design as a spring board for my own design. My fighter is double the size coming in at just over 8 meters.
It will also be a one man fighter. At the moment it just at the shaping out stage so there will be changes to it and fleshed out a bit.

This is where it stands at the moment.

Here is a size comparison with my Type-11 Shuttle with no textures just the materials.
It was also a test for how the materials will look on the fighter.

2 responses

  1. Nice start. 😀

    I’m glad you’re not doing that exact design, it’s not my favorite design. Yours looks much better, IMO.

    04/07/2012 at 16:23

Leave a Reply

