Freaking out about Sci-fi & Moives

Pacific Rim, Film Trailer.

Is Pacific Rimn, Guillermo del Toro love letter to Japamise Monster Moives?

Here is the Synopsis,

When giant alien creatures, known as Kaiju, start coming through from a portal in the Pacific Ocean, it starts a war that takes millions of lives and quickly consumes humanity’s resources. To combat this new threat, a special type of weapon is designed: massive robots, known as Jaegers, which are controlled simultaneously by two pilots whose minds are locked in a neural bridge. As time passes, even the powerful Jaegers prove almost defenceless in the face of a relentless enemy. On its last stand and on the verge of defeat, the remaining defending forces of mankind have no choice but to turn to two unlikely heroes – a former pilot (Charlie Hunnam) and an untested trainee (Rinko Kikuchi) – who are teamed to drive one of the legendary but seemingly obsolete Jaeger from the early trials. As they stand as mankind’s last hope against the mounting apocalypse

3 responses

  1. I saw the trailer for this when I went to see The Hobbit. It looks interesting, I’ll say that. I may have to see it when it comes out on Blu-Ray/DVD. I didn’t know the monsters were called Kaiju, though. That’s funny. I’m a big Godzilla fan, so I know that Kaiju is a Japanese word that literally means “strange beast.” Though, it’s frequently translated into English as “monster.” So, they literally just named these things strange beast/monster in another language. (very original :P)

    31/12/2012 at 17:15

    • Looks like it will be a good film.
      I have not seen a bad del Toro film, and love what he did with Hell Boy.
      Romour has it that, after he has finished getting the Hulk TV show off the ground, he’s going back to make a third Hell Boy.

      02/01/2013 at 12:56

      • I’ve seen a bad del Toro film. In fact, it was Hellboy. 😛 Though, of the films he’s directed, I’ve only seen Hellboy and Blade II. I like Blade II, so I guess that makes me 50/50 on his work that I’ve seen. 😉

        02/01/2013 at 16:28

Leave a Reply

