Freaking out about Sci-fi & Moives

Star Trek, Work Bee, Part 4

Work on the Workbee has slowed up.
This is mainly due to the fact I have forgotten how to set up some of the martial’s that I want to apply to the craft.
But it is moving along slowly.

Here is where it currently stands.

WorkBee Test 04

WorkBee Test 04a

WorkBee Test 04b

Here is an early test of render out the craft in Cycles.

Cycle render test

I don’t think I will continue with the cycles for this project as I have not got a clue how to set up the textures for it. So I will be going back to Blender Guru to learn how to do this.

6 responses

  1. This looks real good. Keep it up! Textures have been my main stumbling block with Cycles, too. I feel like I just barely got a handle on textures for the IR, actually 🙂

    (Also, Cycles is just noisy if you’re doing animation, I find)

    14/01/2013 at 20:01

    • Thanks. Cycles is good if you know what your doing and have the power for it.

      It’s a shame that with the next version of Blender, they are getting rid of the internal render, in-favor of cycles.

      Guess we will have to figure out cycles sooner than later. 😉

      14/01/2013 at 20:34

  2. She’s looking great so far, Dean.

    I don’t know about you, but I hate how grainy Cycles renders stuff. I haven’t played with it much because, as you know, I’m not a Blender user, but I fiddled with it and couldn’t figure out how to reduce the grain.

    15/01/2013 at 16:50

    • Thanks Chris.

      you have to change the setting to get rid of the grain.
      however by doing so you need more prosscing power. Which means longer render times.

      So some thing that only take a few mins with the internal can take hours with Cycles.

      16/01/2013 at 08:58

      • I changed all kinds of settings and couldn’t get the grain to go down. But, I also only messed with it for about 30 minutes to an hour. Processing power isn’t an issue for me, I have plenty of that. 😉

        16/01/2013 at 16:35

Leave a Reply

