Freaking out about Sci-fi & Moives

The Last Stand, Film Reivew

The Last Stand

He said “I’ll be back”, and he is. Schwarzenegger has returned to the big screen in a staring roll in The Last Stand.
The film also stars Forest Whitaker, Eduardo Noriega, Luis Guzmán, Jaimie Alexander and Johnny Knoxville.

The film has a simple plot where an international drug lord Gabriel Cortez (Eduardo Noriega), escaped from FBI custody in Las Vegas and makes a run for Mexican boarder. The best way for Cortez to get over the boarder is just outside the small town of Summerton Junction.
It just so happens that nearly everyone in Summerton Junction has left the town the day before to watch the local collage football team play a game away. All that is left in town is Sheriff Ray Owens (Arnold Schwarzenegger) who was a former L.A SWAT officer than has come to Summerton Junction to see out his twilight years, and his ragtag deputies.

The Last Stand goes back to the old-school action films that made Schwarzenegger a star and has a bit of a High Noon feel to it.
The film even takes note of Schwarzenegger age with a good joke. It does have some so humour in it that does the film no harm. Most of this comes from Johnny Knoxville, who owns the town museum to guns.
The film moves at a nice peaces and does not feel slow at any moment. The only thing that made me cringe was a few shoot out scene, where you could see the blood was over done with CGI. Not a bad thing, but it been done better with the make-up department on films before there was CGI.
I would have like to see more of Forest Whitaker in the film, but given his role of the lead FBI Agent chasing Cortez down from Las Vegas.

While doing a few cameos during and after his term as the Govonator, The Last Stand is a good film for his return to the big screen. I give The Last Stand a 4 out of 5.


.
Lewis Dinkum: [to Sheriff Owens] Wow, you lookin’ jacked, you’ve been working out?

2 responses

  1. I didn’t read the review because I have this movie in my Netflix queue and I hate spoilers, but I noticed you gave it a 4/5. I was kind of iffy about trying it, but I figure I’ll give it a shot. After all, it’s Arnold. He hasn’t starred in an action film for ages. The only person in the cast I don’t really care for is Johnny Knoxville, but I’ll put up with him.

    06/08/2013 at 06:47

    • I don’t really like Johnny, lucky he not in a lot of the film.

      06/08/2013 at 08:58

Leave a Reply

