Freaking out about Sci-fi & Moives

Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit, Trailer

Those that know me well, know I am a huge Tom Clancy fan.
I love the Jack Ryan books and films. (Except for Sum of All Fear, that film was bad.)
When Sum of All Fears went into production Harrison Ford was still attached to play Jack Ryan, a roll that had become his. Ford walked away because of script issue with the then director of the film.

Paramount saw this as an opportunely to reboot the Jack Ryan Franchise.
Instead of redoing Patriot Games or turning Red Rabbit into a film they decided to stick with the basic story of Sum of All Fears, but have Ryan back where he started as an analyst.
Paramount casted Ben Affleck in lead role.
Due to 9/11, a lot of the scene in the film had to changed, as Muslim Terrorist are the villains in the book. For the film it was changed to Neo Nazi.
Needless to say this did not go down well with the fan of the book.

Fast forward 10 years and Paramount is now rebooted the Jack Ryan Franchise with a story that is not based on any of the book and look like it will not have anything to do with them except for characters.

Here is the Trailer for Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit

5 responses

  1. I love The Hunt for Red October. However, Harrison Ford is definitely my favorite Jack Ryan. Patriot games and Clear and Present Danger are both damn fine films. I never knew why The Sum of All Fears was a steaming pile of donkey crap, but your explanation makes sense. I’ll probably try the new one. I’m not sure, since it won’t be based on one of the late Tom Clancy’s books. (I don’t like reading his books, but I do enjoy a lot of the films based on them.) I do like Chris Pine and it will be interesting to see how he takes on the role.

    20/10/2013 at 17:58

    • His books do get a bit technical, but they are still very enjoyable.
      His last few book have not been that great. But someone else’s co-written these books.
      I also like Chris Pine and look forward to seeing what he does with the role.

      21/10/2013 at 06:47

      • I forget which one I tried reading. I think it was an Ops-Center book. (I think it was the first one) Though, from what I’m reading on Wikipedia, he didn’t actually write those, he just helped create the series. So, I guess I haven’t actually tried reading any of his books.

        It was a damn shame that he died a few weeks ago.

        21/10/2013 at 18:16

      • Yeah it is shame. One the guys I used to work with know him.
        If you want to read one of his books. I would start with hunt for red October. Its one of his best books.

        24/10/2013 at 20:24

      • Thanks for the tip. I love the film, so it makes sense to start there anyway. 😀

        25/10/2013 at 18:10

Leave a Reply

