Freaking out about Sci-fi & Moives

Pegasus has Fallen, Film Review

olympus-has-fallen-poster

Olympus Has Fallen follows former Secret Service operative Mike Banning (Gerard Butler) who is tasked with a sudden return to active duty. When a hostile force takes over the White House and lays ruin to Washington D.C.
Banning runs headlong into the fray, slipping inside the ravaged White House (codename: Olympus) before the terrorists cut-off outgoing communications.
Out-manned and out-gunned, Banning coordinates with Speaker, and acting President, Allan Trumbull (Morgan Freeman) along with Secret Service head (Angela Bassett). Banning quietly moving through the war-torn White House on a mission to free President Benjamin Asher (Aaron Eckhart) as well as discover the terrorist group’s true motivations.

Olympus Has Fallen, has a staler cast, however they play typical stereotypes, which is not a bad thing, but it would have been nicer to have a bit more depth to them.
Butler plays Banning straight and there is not much chesses except for the patriotism, but that is to be expected from a film of this type.

The set up for film is quick and to the point leading straight into the main story and has the action rammed right up with in the first 15 minutes.

Having a C-130 Hercules flying straight up to the White House is explained with something that is close to reality. This leads to some decent CGI of the Hercules being shot down and crashing into the US national monument.
You would normally expect this sort of story to be more fantasy, than based in reality, however the writes have thought it out and given scenarios that could happen. Though given the White House is one the most protected places in the world, it is a very long shot that this could happen.

With this in mind Olympus Has Fallen stand out better than White House Down, which has a similar storyline (my review for that will be along soon.) but is more of fantasy film.
Don’t expect anything thought provoking as this is your typical pop corn summer action movie.
I give Olympus Has Fallen 4 out of 5.


.
Mike Banning “Newsflash asshole – I don’t work for you.”

3 responses

  1. I think I gave it a 3 out of 5 on Netflix. Personally, I like White House Down a bit better (4 out of 5, I think) but both suffer from reality issues. No matter what they say, I don’t think an AC-130 Spectre gunship is going to get that close to our nation’s capitol without being challenged sooner. Plus, there were some other things I found unrealistic, though I don’t remember what they are since I saw it months ago. The cast is definitely stellar. I thought everybody played their parts well, but as you said, they were pretty stereotypical. Overall, I found it a good film, but nothing I need to own.

    I found it very interesting that two films with such similar plots came out at the same time. I’m thinking it could have been like the whole Tombstone/Wyatt Earp thing, where somebody was working on one film, didn’t like how things were being done, and left to do their own film. (just a theory of mine based on nothing I’ve heard or read)

    17/09/2014 at 17:18

    • It happens about once a decade. In the mid 90’s we had Deep Impact and Armagadon come out at the same time. The was one in the 00’s but I can’t remember the name of the films. I don’t think they that good anyway.

      19/09/2014 at 15:56

      • We also had Tombstone and Wyatt Earp in the ’90s. Of course, that wasn’t an accident. Kevin Costner was attached to Tombstone but didn’t like that they weren’t showing more of Wyatt’s life, so he left to produce his own film. So, I don’t think that counts. 😉

        Deep Impact. Man, that movie sucked. Armageddon is slightly more tolerable. At least it’s a Michael Bay film, so you know it won’t be boring. Yes, he has other issues in his films that I won’t go into, but they’re not boring.

        I don’t know about the ’00 thing. I may have missed them. Obviously, they weren’t memorable for you either. 😉

        19/09/2014 at 17:45

Leave a Reply

